Artifactory in CentOS

Whew, I just had quite a difficult time getting Artifactory to install and run in CentOS. They have a nice installation guide, and it almost worked but not quite.

I am using the JPackage repository, so my java installation probably came out of there. And it seems to be slightly nonstandard, so I had to find the correct paths to make Artifactory happy.

Oh and also, I’m using the standalone Artifactory. I think it’s high time for me to learn an application server but for now, this is the last piece of my setup so I’ll let it be. Those of you that have the slightest clue about application servers might want to stop right here and just drop the Artifactory war file in your server.

Anyway, I’ll get to the point. Here’s what to do:

  • Unzip artifactory somewhere. I unzipped it inside /usr/local; so, my ARTIFACTORY_HOME = “/usr/local/artifactory”.
  • su and cd to that directory, then run ./bin/install.sh
  • cd etc (or /etc/artifactory, but not /etc; install.sh creates a symlink in $ARTIFACTORY_HOME/etc that points to /etc/artifactory)
  • Now edit the file ‘default’ with your favorite editor (vim default).
  • Uncomment or add the two lines:
  • export JAVA_HOME=/usr
  • export JAVA=/bin/java
  • Save and close this file. Now /sbin/service artifactory start – and you should be good to go!
  • Optionally, before starting (or do a restart afterwards), edit jetty.xml inside the etc directory and customize the port that Jetty runs on, on line 52.

Feel free to comment below if you found this useful or if you have anything else to add!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Artifactory in CentOS

  1. Pablo says:

    Just works

  2. Vinny says:

    Can you please point me to the documentation for Linux server configuration including (CPU, MEM, and disk). Also , is there any recommended way of install and how to lay out the file system? We will use this as a next step to build out staging and production.

    Appreciated.

    Thanks.

    • No, I can’t, I no longer use Artifactory or CentOS. Please search their sites or contact them for assistance. It looks like I did give tips on the file system layout in this blog post. You might take a look into the /usr/local/artifactory/etc/default file and see if there is a -Xmx___m flag indicating the maximum memory usage, to give you an idea of the system requirements. But I would be surprised if they didn’t have a system requirements section in their documentation.

      -Richard

Leave a Reply

